When you create a new item (for example, folder, report, or chart), it is private. Only you can see it, run it, edit it, and so on. A private item is illustrated with a gray icon.
When you are ready to allow others to access the item you can publish it. This turns on any rules set on the item itself or inherited from a higher level. The icon of the item appears in full color to indicate the item is live.